FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedPaula Bennett

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>
Author
kebakat View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kebakat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Paula Bennett
    Posted: 29 July 2009 at 10:19am
I know this will possibly be controversial but I just wondered what people thought of what Paula bennett has done and the scrapping of the TIA.

My own personal opinion and is no way meant to be offensive is I think what she did is good. Those 2 women receive a hell of alot of benefits and its good to see both sides of the story.

I'm also glad the TIA is scrapped. I studied prior to Daniel. Wasn't entitled to a student allowance because my parents had a farm and "earnt too much" even though they were not supporting me at all and I wasn't living at home. Everything went on student loan including living expenses. When I studied last year. Again most of it went on student loan because I couldn't get a student allowance or any assistance and I really don't see why everyone else can't do the same if they can't afford to pay it outright.
Sponsored Links

rachndean View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rachndean Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 July 2009 at 10:25am
I agree with you Stacey. I think that what she did was definitely within acceptable boundaries.
I remember reading the story from the two mums in the herald last weekend, and I got the impression that the government were telling them that they werent allowed to study in a tertiary institution.
So I say good on Paula Bennett for setting the story straight! She made a very good point saying that student loans are interest free, and all New Zealanders are entitled to one.
Henna79 View Drop Down