FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedMirena vs Jadelle

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
blondy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blondy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mirena vs Jadelle
    Posted: 17 February 2011 at 9:20am
We are pretty sure we're now a complete family and so I'm looking at more long-term forms of contraception - I'm very over doing the daily pill thing (and DH isn't quite ready to have the snip just yet!)

So I'm thinking more along the lines of the Mirena IUD and the Jadelle implant, but as I have no personal experience with these, I'm looking for other people's experience with them, good or bad!

I believe they cost about the same, and that isn't really an issue anyway... it's more whether you've had any side effects, what AFs have been like after, did they hurt excessively going in/out (I have heard getting Jadelle removed can be ouchie! ).

Thanks ladies in advance! It's always good to hear personal experiences rather than just factual info
Sponsored Links

Rachael21 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rachael21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 February 2011 at 10:23am
I think Jadelle is subsidised now so that will save you some dollars!

I have no experience with Jadelle but I have a mirena currently so I'll give you my good and bad parts!
Good: Minimal AF, mine is very regular but I could easily get away with panty liners and nothing at night time.
- Reliability, this is why I chose it because it has such a low failure rate.

Bad: I spotted for a few months non stop initially and then had a couple of months last year with really heavy bleeding. I couldn't feel the strings so had a scan and it was still there and then it just seemed to fix itself.
- It has to go up your vajayjay and some people find it a bit tender going in.