FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedOh cake decorating experts!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
pepsi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pepsi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oh cake decorating experts!
    Posted: 16 June 2008 at 8:17pm
I am a total novice to making nice themed birthday cakes, but I'm going to give it a try for Alyssa's birthday in July. I was just wondering about a couple of things..

For now I am planning on doing a Mickey Mouse cake so I guess black food colouring for the ears, but what colour should I get to make the face colour? It's kind of a skin colour I guess and I don't know if you have to make this up yourself of it they sell it that colour?

Also, when you use fairly dark icing such as black or red, does this tend to stain the teeth or whatever else it touches?
Sponsored Links

BaAsKa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BaAsKa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 June 2008 at 8:25pm
for the face colour you can just make up the normal icing and dont add colouring.

Yes i made a black batman cake and it did stain teeth.

I was lazy for Bays bday this year and just bought an edible cake image for $12 off TM - its cheap, easy and looks awsome!!!!
There are some neat mickey mouse ones if you want to go that way?

mickey edible cake image

Edited by BaileyandAstin
BaAsKa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BaAsKa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 June 2008 at 8:31pm
aawww these ones are cute!!..

minnie

minnie again

Edited by BaileyandAstin
busymum View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote busymum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 June 2008 at 8:38pm