FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedCheapest way to wash cloth nappies

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
angel4 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote angel4 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cheapest way to wash cloth nappies
    Posted: 11 November 2009 at 1:28pm
We use ecobots nappies which are prefolds (i think im not very good with all the terms) as in there is a cloth bit we fold up and put in a cover and then on baby.

How i am washing them now - hang cover up to air if it has not been soiled so i can use it for the next nappy change. Rinse inner and put in nappy bucket. If cover is soiled rinse and place on top of bucket in laundry. When time to wash i tip all nappies in machine, do up covers and put them in too. Then use one cap full of nappisan dissolved in hot water, tip this into machine, fill machine with warm/hot water and let it soak for a bit and then i come back and change it to cold cycle to go through. Then hang in sunshine.

Questions :

Do i have to wash them in hot water? We are going through our gas so quick atm and i know its because i do a load of nappies in hot water at least every other day if not every day.

Is there an alternative to nappisan? I am using home make laundry liquid now for all our other washing so im sure there must be an alternative.

also any other tips on what i could be doing differently to save myself time and money. THANKS!!!!

Sponsored Links

AandCsmum View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AandCsmum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 November 2009 at 1:40pm
I only do a hot wash every now & then on my nappies. But I used different ones from you.

Do you need to soak? Can you do the soaking in a bucket. Might work out less gas?

Honeychild website has good washing tips
Kel

A = 01.02.04   &   C = 16.01.09   &   G = 30.03.12
lilfatty View Drop Down