FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedSeed germination

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
happymumma View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote happymumma Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Seed germination
    Posted: 07 October 2010 at 8:39pm

Is anyone really good at this?  I seem to be a bit hit and miss.

If you have success, what are your tips (think explanation for a complete novice!!)?

Sponsored Links

KrazeeKaz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrazeeKaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 9:19pm
We have found that using a mix of potting mix, compost and seed raising mix is great, also keeping them watered regularly and in a warm area like a green house or poly tunnel will help also.
Kellz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kellz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 9:32pm
Have just started growing seeds for the first time. Got seedling trays and seedling mix from garden centre. I asked the guy for a quick lesson for dummys, lol. He told me to follow the back of the seed packets for length of germination, and not to plant the seeds deeper than what the packet says, cos if u plant them too deep they wont grow. Put one seed per hole. I put sees that take the same lenth of gemination in the same tray- most take 10-14 days, but I have some that take 4 weeks so they all all in little rows in the same tray!
I have them in my laundry, and have covered the trays with newspaper to make it dark, and water daily. They are all growing really well! I have sunflowers and marigolds, spring onions, carrots, beetroot, eggplant, cucumbers.