FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedBanned Foods..what is normal and what is OTT?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Sunshine133695 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sunshine133695 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Banned Foods..what is normal and what is OTT?
    Posted: 23 November 2013 at 1:03pm
Hi all

I'm new to pregnancy & all this food information is driving me crazy!!

I have just eaten hummus (store bought & opened last night).
I had some last night, refrigerated it straight away and had some just now.
I googled it and apparently it's on the "no" list because of the Tahini.

Does anyone else who's pregnant eat hummus? It feels to me like these rules are a bit OTT.

I want to be careful but I don't want to stop living!!!

I look forward to hearing from others....
Sponsored Links

Spitfire19 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Spitfire19 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2013 at 1:16pm
I think if you can understand why some foods are "no" foods it will help you to make your choices as to what you will and will not eat. For example, salad that is not fresh and washed has an increased risk of Listeria, which may not necessarily make the average person ill, but for a pregnant women and her baby this could mean a very realy chance of death.

Of course, a lot of these "no" foods are to protect yiu and your baby, but at the end of the day, if you understand the risks associated with eating them, than it is your choice to eat or not eat.

(and with a quick Google, it appears that with tahini it is the increased risk of contracting listeria, so do your own research and figure out what is right for you )

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sunshine133695 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2013 at 1:20pm
Thanks Spitfire.