FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedColouring lemon icing? (banana cake)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
arohanui View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arohanui Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Colouring lemon icing? (banana cake)
    Posted: 04 January 2009 at 7:07pm
It's Harry's birthday party on Saturday and I'm thinking of making a banana cake (in the shape of a 1). I found this yummy sounding recipe that Mel posted a while ago here and thought the lemon icing sounds delish.

I was originally going to do chocolate icing with blue and green m&m's around the edge. But then I had a thought, would I be able to mix food colouring with the lemon icing? Or would it go weird?

We're kinda having a theme of blue and green (just for the invites, balloons etc) so I thought it would be cool if maybe I could do the sides in blue and the top in green (for example).

But I have no experience in icing cakes fancy and have no idea if this would work.

Cake gurus? What do you recommend? Help!
Mama to DS1 (5 years), DS2 (3 years) and...
Sponsored Links

SuperDaddy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDaddy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2009 at 7:16pm
You should be able to do a shade of green (since the icing would be yellow?) .. well I would imagine lemon icing would be yellow, so then you would add a drop of blue food colouring (it wouldnt alter the taste)

We are doing the same icing but without the lemon as we are doing an iggle piggle cake which requires at least two shades of blue (and some red), but those are both primary colours so should be relatively easy).

I would just have a play

arohanui View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arohanui Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2009 at 7:21pm