FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedTomato Flowers

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
JoJames View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JoJames Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tomato Flowers
    Posted: 16 November 2010 at 1:16pm
Should I be picking the flowers off at this point to help the plant grow bigger, rather than just letting it grow fruit?
Sponsored Links

Gardengirl View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gardengirl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 November 2010 at 2:41pm
I've never heard of picking the flowers off, just to pinch out the laterals.
happymumma View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote happymumma Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 November 2010 at 2:45pm
I wouldn't bother I don't think.  I hadn't heard of doing it either (but I am a garden novice really) but I always remove the laterals and that seems to work for plant growth.
LadyBee View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LadyBee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 November 2010 at 2:49pm
Im new to vege gardening too and have two tomato plants that have come into flower now and was wondering the same thing jojames

Silly me, but what does it mean when you say "just pinch out the laterals"?
TTC for 4 1/2 years
IVF #1 - April 2012 short BFP, no frosties
IVF #2 - August 2012, BFP!! 3 frosties!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gardengirl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 November 2010 at 2:53pm
Not silly at all